Safety Kenny Easley #45 of the Seattle Seahawks chases wide receiver Mervyn Fernandez #86 of the Los Angeles Raiders during the NFL game at the Los Angeles Coliseum on October 10, 1987 in Los Angeles, California. The Seahawks defeated the Raiders 35-13. (Photo by Mike Powell/Getty Images)

by Curtis Crabtree
KJR reporter
Twitter: @Curtis_Crabtree

Former Seahawks safety Kenny Easley was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday night as part of a seven-man class that will be enshrined in Canton, Ohio this summer.

Easley was one of the first true superstar players of the Seahawks franchise. He played for Seattle for seven seasons (1981-87) before kidney damage from painkillers prematurely ended his career. Easley was selected as a senior committee nominee after being nominated by the group last August.

Easley becomes the fourth career member of the Seahawks to be elected to the Hall of Fame. He joins receiver Steve Largent, defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy and tackle Walter Jones.

The fourth overall pick of the 1981 draft, Easley was an All-Pro by his second season. He was selected to the Pro Bowl five times and was a first-team All-Pro is four consecutive seasons.

Easley was named NFL Defensive Player of the year in 1984 when he recorded 10 interceptions and returned two for touchdowns. He is a member of the NFL's All-Decade team for the 1980's and is a member of the Seahawks Ring of Honor.

He racked up 32 interceptions in just seven seasons.

Easley was the only senior committee nominee this year. At least one senior nominee was been elected to the Hall of Fame every year since 1997. To be elected, Easley needed to gain 80 percent of the vote. However, his resume wasn't weighted against any of the modern era nominees. It was simply a vote on if he deserved enshrinement.

The committee decided he absolutely does.

Easley joins running backs LaDainian Tomlinson and Terrell Davis, quarterback Kurt Warner, linebacker Jason Taylor, kicker Morten Andersen and contributor Jerry Jones - owner of the Dallas Cowboys - in this year's class.