OSU Lefty Luke Heimlich National Pitcher of the Year!!


Lefty Luke Heimlich is the National Pitcher of the year. The College Baseball Foundation made the announcement on Wednesday. It is expected Luke will get the start Saturday when the Oregon State Beavers face North Carolina. You can hear the game on Rip City Radio live from Omaha with pregame coverage beginning at 11:30am with Mike Parker on the call.

Heimlich has had another incredible season and now will face the challenge of a talented Tarheels lineup.

It will also be interesting to see how fans and the national media treat Luke at the CWS in Omaha. Beaver Nation will turn out in force to support this team and the National Pitcher of the Year. Here is the official release about Luke's award:

Oregon State senior Luke Heimlich has been named the National Pitcher of the Year, presented by the College Baseball Foundation, as announced by the organization on Wednesday.


Heimlich, a left-hander from Puyallup, Wash., leads the nation with 16 wins and his school-record 151 strikeouts ranks third nationally. He’s the first pitcher in school history to earn the honor, and follows in the footsteps of 2017 recipient Steven Gingery of Texas Tech. Aaron Nola (2014 – LSU), Trevor Bauer (2011 – UCLA) and Stephen Strasburg (2009 – San Diego State) are among previous recipients.


Heimlich has allowed just 91 hits in 120 1/3 innings, holding opponents to a .211 batting average with a 2.32 earned run average. He has recorded quality starts in 16 of his 17 starts.


Since an April 13 win at Missouri State, Heimlich has recorded 10 or more strikeouts in seven of nine starts. Over that stretch, he has struck out 94 in 68 2/3 innings, allowing 44 hits and 12 earned runs – a 1.57 ERA.


Heimlich was named the Pac-12 Conference Pitcher of the Year in May, becoming the first to win the honor in back-to-back years since Arizona State’s Mike Leake in 2008 and 2009. Heimlich is also an All-Pac-12 performer and an All-Academic honorable mention selection, majoring in speech communication. He has been recognized by two All-American teams – the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) and Collegiate Baseball.


Content Goes Here