2000 Fiesta Bowl team to be honored at Reser Stadium at Pac-12 opener!

The Beavers welcome Nick Rolovich and the Cougars to Reser Stadium Saturday September 26. What a perfect day to celebrate the 20th anniversary of their bashing of Notre Dame 41-9 in the 2001 Fiesta Bowl.

Jonathan Smith and company have some unfinished business against the Cougs and Nick Rolovich. Rolovich was Hawaii's coach last September and the Cougs edged Oregon State 54-53 in that heartbreaker on the Palouse last November.

Here is the official news release on the big weekend in September:

Oregon State University Vice President and Director of Athletics Scott Barnes announced the “Fiesta Bowl Championship 20thAnniversary” will be celebrated the weekend of Sept. 25-27on campus when the Beavers host Washington State at Reser Stadium. The 2000 team, as well as its head coach Dennis Erickson, will also be enshrined into the OSU Athletics Hall of Fame on the same weekend as part of the fully to-be-announced future 16thclass.

The team compiled an 11-1 record, won the 2001 New Year’s Day Fiesta Bowl, and finished the year No. 4 in the country. Erickson, a 2019 College Football Hall of Fame inductee, earned one of his three then-Pac-10 Conference Coach of the Year honors following the regular season.

Current Beaver head coach Jonathan Smith was the team’s quarterback and was selected the Fiesta Bowl Offensive Most Valuable Player after passing for 305 yards and three touchdowns in the 41-19 victory over Notre Dame. The Beaver offense accounted for 446 yards.

Defensively, the Beavers limited the Fighting Irish to just 155 yards of offense and created three turnovers. Linebacker Darnell Robinson was named the bowl’s Defensive MVP after making seven tackles, including one sack, two tackles-for-loss, and forcing a fumble.

“I’m very proud to be a member of this iconic team,” Smith said. “The players on this team formed a unique bond representing Oregon State University that remains today. This will be a special weekend on campus that we invite all of Beaver Nation to relive the memories and celebrate the Fiesta Bowl championship.”

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content